Books That DIDN’T Live Up To The Hype

A new week, a new top ten. Thus, here we are discussing our most recent one-star (zero-star??) reads. The books that utterly disappointed us to no end.

MOST DISAPPOINTING READS

01

The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow

I had so much hope for this dystopian/AI-universe but the plot completely lost me. I want those three hours back.

The Merciless by Danielle Vega

Again, W T H was I reading? Said to be a YA horror in the vein of Stephen King. It definitely was NOT. It was a bunch of teenagers getting drunk, waving knives in each others faces and playing God.

Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern

Honestly, do not even bother. I can tell you the story in three sentences. Boy loves girl. Girl loves boy. THEY DO NOT TELL EACH OTHER EVER. 

2 thoughts on “Books That DIDN’T Live Up To The Hype

  1. I had to laugh at your comment on Love, Rosie — I actually liked that book; I read it when I was younger and was totally fascinated by how their love story developed over the years, but I’m inclined to agree with you 100%. Their problem and why it took so long was just because of their lack of communication! I haven’t reread it again as an adult and I wonder if now I’ll be too impatient for all the back-and-forth going on there. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • OMG MY GOODNESS, THANK YOU, REG.

      I agree, I think if I was still a super young teenager hell bent on that perfect love story, I would’ve been ALL over this. But now? People need to talk to each other.

      If you do end up rereading it, I want to know if you feel the same way! It was just too much back-and-forth for me.

      Have you seen the film? I’m debating because the book was terrible but Sam Claflin.

      Like

Leave a Reply

