That Time We Tried Books We Don’t Usually Like… AND LIKED IT

Shoutout out to The Broke and Bookish for a Top Ten that challenged us to think of books outside our comfort zone!

What happens when we read genres we don’t usually read? WE END UP LIKING THEM. One of my favourite things about reading, and books in general, is that you don’t really know what you like or don’t like until you read it! It’s always a surprise and I love when an unexpected book becomes one you don’t know how you lived without for so long.

Here are some reads we wouldn’t usually pick up and why we’d pick them up again and again!

OLIVIA 02

A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis

I don’t usually gravitate towards historical fiction, but I received an ARC for this book so I gave it a shot. It was a dark and twisted tale about a girl who was wrongfully sent to an insane asylum and somehow becomes the assistant of a mad doctor in solving gruesome murders.

I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest

Contemporary is normally the last thing I reach for. But the integrated graphic novel and bright, larger than life cover drew me to it. This ended up being a very cute mystery-esque novel that I thoroughly enjoyed.

Damage Done by Amanda Panitch

A totally messed up contemporary about twins, a school shooting and just so many layers and twists of CRAZINESS! Don’t let the cover deter you, this book was a wild ride.

RISABELLA01

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

I haven’t read a lot of science fiction because it usually goes over my head. But this was a perfect introduction to sci-fi with a hint of fantasy and a touch of romance! And also, one gorgeous babe  – TARVER MERENDSEN, EVERYBODY, AM I RIGHT?

Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Contemporary has never been a favourite genre of mine – I don’t like to read about real life. I like to escape in a fantasy or a good ol’ historical fiction but Morgan Matson completely transformed my view on contemporary. This is an incredible roadtrip adventure full of plot twists and OMG, NO – moments, just like any reliable fantasy!


What books outside your comfort zone complete shocked you and made you fall in love?

 

Leave a Reply

