The Last Place On Earth and the Last Thing I Expected

imageBook: The Last Place On Earth

Author: Carol Snow

Published: February 23 2016

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co (Macmillan)

Genre: Contemporary Young Adult


What’s It About?

When Daisy’s best friend Henry, who is basically a 16 year old genius, goes missing one day without a trace her life is turned upside down. Only after breaking into his house to find a note from him: “Save Me” are Daisy’s suspicions of alien abduction or a witness protection program less and less far fetched. In a desperate search for her friend, Daisy traverses into the Californian wilderness following a trail of clues seemingly left by her friend and stumbles upon a discovery that may change her friendship with Henry for ever.


 

What I Liked:

  • Likeable characters
  • appocalypse feel
  • surprising plot twists
  • NO INSTA-LOVE (for the most part)

What I Didn’t Like:

  • The fact that there were no aliens, I was convinced this was going to end up as an alien sci-fi but I was wrong
  • Characters felt somewhat underdeveloped to me
  • pacing was a little off at times
  • all parental figures were complete idiots

Overview:

I truly enjoyed this book, I give it a solid 3.5/5. With a strong protagonist I sped right through this book. The best parts were the surprise twists, they really had me going. My favourite part is a little spoilery so stop reading here if you don’t want to be spoiled !!!

“Is this some kind of cult?” I Asked Henry. His father answered. “Of course not. People in cults are crazy.”

Big thanks to Raincoast Books for the ARC! You are the best!

 

Leave a Reply

