Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant To Get To But Didn’t

Back in full force for 2016 with another Top Ten Tuesday from the Broke and the Bookish .

I weep for those books that got left behind. Those books that I had the best of intentions to read, those books that got shafted somehow and now sit on my shelf taunting me…

PicMonkey Collage1

1. Carry On by Rainbow Rowel

Aside from a couple of short stories I have never read any of her books *hangs head in shame* its one of those things I keep meaning to do but it never happened. With the release of Carry On in 2015 I told myself I would first read Fangirl and then devour Carry On, but sadly it just never happened.

2. Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch

Loved Snow Like Ashes and was so excited when I bought Ice Like Fire but unfortunately it just sat on my bookshelf most of the year as I read different books.

3. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Was so excited by the premise of this story as I love fairytale retellings. Bought it, was super stoked to read it but just never got around to it. However a friend of mine just read it recently and was singing it’s praises so I have a renewed desire to read this.

4. Golden Son by Pierce Brown

Was such a fan of the brutality of Red Rising but somehow Golden Son slipped out of reach and I never read it. Am hoping to start over and read Red Rising, then Golden Son just prior to the release of Morning Star so it will all be fresh in my mind.

5. Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Heard nothing but good things and was and still am wanting to read this badly but I CAN ONLY READ SO MUCH IN A YEAR WHAT DO YOU WANT FROM ME!!

PicMonkey Collage2

6. Another Day by David Levithan

The companion novel to Every Day which blew my mind, this book I vow will be read someday but the urgency has died down a bit for me.

7. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

Upon realizing that I had not read any of Patrick Ness’ earlier works I decided to put this one aside and start with A Monster Calls and the Chaos Walking Trilogy so I would get a better sense of his writing.

8. More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

I really wanted to read this one based off of friends reviews but them I went into a fantasy only period and kind of forgot about this one. I endeavour to read this one is 2016 though!

9. Dumplin’ by  Julie Murphy

A much hyped up contemporary novel supposedly with empowering themes that I wanted to give a shot but was reluctant to start it in case it was overhyped, will try and get around to reading if eventually.

10. Walk On Earth A Stranger by Rae Carson

A really cool premise about a girl who can sense gold in the earth that peaked my interest from the beginning. This is one that I simply ran out of time to read in 2015, but look out because I am coming for you in 2016!

 

Leave a Reply

