Deadly Doppelgängers: The Unquiet

The Unquiet by Mikaela Everett

22595271 3/5 I received an ARC from Harper Collins in the fall of 2015. I hadn’t heard anything about this book previously but once I got the breakdown of doppelgängers, alternate Earths and trained children assassins I was sold.

This book gave me some major Orphan Black vibes with the layers and layers of conspiracy and moral ambiguities.

giphy

I felt very conflicted about this book; there were elements that I loved and parts that just didn’t do it for me. For example I both like and dislike the cover, it both makes perfect sense but at the same time doesn’t.


Things I Liked:

  • Amazingly unique premise
  • Dark undertones in the novel with war, murder and deception
  • Female led story (YAY)
  • Haunting look into main characters tormented and contradictory thoughts and feelings
  • Killer ending

Things I Didn’t Like:

  • inconsistent narrator
  • choppy timeline and sequence of events
  • all the confusion I felt while reading this book

 

Overall this was an enjoyable read and I think that the often confusing and choppy narration was a device to illustrate how damaged and messed up the main character was by her upbringing. While I can appreciate that, for me it was too much and I was left with many questions and frequently confused as to what was even going on in this story. So mixed feelings for this one but still worth a read if you get the chance.

 

Leave a Reply

