Read ‘Em And Weep: books that made me cry

 

READ 'EMSometimes a book will take your heart and crush it into tiny little pieces leaving you a broken sobbing mess. Here are some of those often satisfying books that somehow made an ocean of tears flee from my eyes and may or may not have emotionally devastated me for days after.


Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling

818056

What can I say, it was the end of the series, the end of my childhood and the end of Harry’s adventures. I will leave you with these names that make me tear up just thinking of them: Dumbledore, Dobby, Lupin, and Fred.

 

 

 

 

 


The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

11870085

I had low expectations when I started this book, figuring that everyone had hyped it for no reason. I WAS WRONG! I knew what was coming but it still destroyed me, I remember finishing this book at 1 am and sitting on the couch crying for a good 10 minutes before I could move. Well played John, you made me care for those lovely kids GOSH DARNIT! I think what hurt the most about reading a story about kids dying from cancer and what John captured so well is the injustice and the lack of control over situations like that hold.

 


 

The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

23168945

This is the moving story of a teenage girl dealing with the death of her sister. Following her and her family as they grieve and process the loss of a loved one proves to be an emotional ride. Jandy utilizes scraps of poetry that the main character writes about how she’s feeling at the beginning of every chapter to beautiful affect. This book was a pile of feelings trapped inside a teenage girls body.

 

 

 


All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

18460392

This book broke me. I knew going in that it dealt with mental illness, and as a fantasy lover I was hesitant at first to give it a go. But Violet and Finch wormed their way into my heart and while I still feel conflicted about parts of this story it has a heartbreaking ending that left me sobbing even though in retrospect I should have seen it coming. Another contemporary book about young people suffering from some form of illness…see the pattern here?

 

 


A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

8621462

A Monster Calls is an emotional story of a young boy who’s mother is dying from cancer. Through dark tales with monsters and nightmares, the young boy, Connor, deals with his denial, grief, guilt and acceptance of his situation. This book was visually stunning with illustrations by Jim Kay and a most enchantingly dark and raw story from Patrick Ness. What really tugged at my heart strings were Connor visits with his Dad, as his parents were divorced and how he took care of his mom while she was undergoing treatment. I have dealt with both these things first hand so it really got to me and resulted in a few tears to say the least by the end of this story.


The Host by Stephenie Meyer

1656001

An alien invasion story that far surpasses Meyer’s previous work in my opinion. What made me cry in this book was I think the struggle between Melanie, the host, and Wanderer, the invading alien. The inner turmoil I felt as the two became closer and as one begins to take over. You feel conflicted because you want them both to survive and be happy but as we see throughout the novel, nothing is that simple or easy. A surprising amount of tears for this bad boy.

 

 


The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

5499874

A whimsical tale of a young boy who is saved from a murderer by chance and finds sanctuary in a graveyard. He is adopted by the ghostly residences there and grows up in the Graveyard. Wildly witty, funny and poignant with classic Neil Gaiman writing, this book had me tearing up on public transit when I reached it’s end. Happy tears mostly. The end of this book leaves you with the bittersweet feeling of childhood reaching its end but the new hope of a bright future, even if people and memories must be left behind to achieve it.


Ocean At the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

15783514

For much the same reasons as the Graveyard Book, Ocean At the End of the Lane took me on a emotional journey back to childhood. A short quick novel, it was of such substance and beautifully written it felt like I was reading poetry. In this case it was tears of wonderment and sadness that this book was over that leapt from my peepers.

 

 

 

 


Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

7260188

For those of you who have already read the Hunger Games trilogy you know why this book in particular was so hard to handle. To avoid spoilers, the death of a certain character scarred me and left me misty eyed. A few years later when I went back to re-read the trilogy I found that I must have blocked much of Mockingjay from my memories because it was as if I were reading it for the first time and the wounds were new and raw. Needless to say I am still upset over this book.

 

 


Allegiant by Veronica Roth

17383918

The ending of the Divergent trilogy shocked me to say the least. At first I remember being incredulous, thinking that I had somehow read it wrong. Then I was angry, finally my sorrow struck and I cried. I grieved over this book and I am still not ready for the re-read at this point as if time will change the ending I didn’t want to occur.

 

 

 


So there you have it, these are the 10 books to date that have made me cry, please share with me some of your favourite tear-jerking reads. Did any of the books I mentioned above make you cry too, or am I just overly sensitive?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

