Reading Slumps: the scourge of the booklover

ROADTRIP

Friends and fellow book lovers, the worst has happened. I AM IN A READING SLUMP!

I don’t know how it happened, it just sort of crept up on me. At first I thought I was just picking bad books to read but then I realized something more was going on.

Please follow me on my journey to discovering this terrible affliction…

1.DENIAL

Reading Slump? Ya right, there are thousands of amazing books out there. I’ve just been picking some mediocre ones recently. I will find the right book, I’m just super busy right now that’s why I don’t feel like reading as much.


2. ANGER

THIS IS SO STUPID!!! WHY CAN’T I START AND FINISH A GOOD BOOK?!? WHO WRITES THIS STUFF? IS THERE SUCH A THING AS A GOOD BOOK ANYMORE?!? READING SLUMPS DON’T REALLY EXIST. WHY!!!! *flailing of arms* *pacing of room* *grumbling under breath*


3. BARGANING

Maybe if I binge watch all of Sherlock that will get me into the mood?

*lights candles* * burns incense* *casually builds alter of books*

OH DIETIES OF THE PAGES AND WRITTEN WORD PLEASE SEND UNTO ME A NOVEL TO SAVE ME FROM THIS CURSED SLUMP…PLEASE J.K ROWLING PLEASE WRITE ANOTHER HARRY POTTER!!!! 

In paperbacks we trust, AMEN.


4. DEPRESSION

*under the covers*

I will never read a good book again

my reading days are over

I will be in this slump forever, it is not a slump, it is a never ending crevice, a bottomless pit

might as well burn my bookshelves because they are now useless….just like the literary world….


5. ACCEPTANCE

Hello, my name is Olivia and I am in a reading slump. It has been 2 weeks since my last novel but I will not give up! I know the perfect book is waiting for me

Now I can hardly blame any one book, but I have to say the reading Six of Crows and Illuminae so close together may have been a mistake. They were 2 amazing books and I think that now everything else pales in comparison. Anyways if you have any book suggestions to help me escape the dreaded reading slump please send them my way.

READ ON!

Leave a Reply

